Contact Form
Repeat and Felony DUI

Murfreesboro Felony DUI Lawyers Fight for Reduced Penalties for Repeat DUI Charges

According to the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security, there were more than 7,300 alcohol-impaired traffic crashes and more than 5,700 DUI arrests in Tennessee in 2012. During fiscal year 2013, more than 4,000 of the 26,800 DUI convictions in the state were repeat offenses. Drivers charged with repeat DUIs face a number of significant penalties ― including jail time, fines, license revocation and more.

The attorneys at Mitchell & Mitchell aggressively defend drivers against repeat and felony DUI charges. We build a strong defense and seek the least restrictive penalties possible for our clients. To be aggressively defended by a Mitchell & Mitchell attorney call them at 615-896-4211 to schedule a free consultation.

What are the penalties for repeat DUI offenses in Tennessee?

Penalties for repeat DUIs vary depending on the number of prior DUI convictions on your record. Second-time offenders may be subject to one or more of the following penalties:

  • 45 days to 11 months and 29 days in jail
  • A mandatory fine of $600–$3,500
  • License revocation for two years with a restricted license available after the first year
  • Vehicle seizure/forfeiture
  • Participation in an alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle at your expense
  • Restitution to any person suffering personal injury or loss

If this is your third DUI offense, possible penalties include:

  • 120 days to 11 months and 29 days in jail
  • A mandatory fine of $1,100 to $10,000
  • License revocation for six to 10 years with no restricted license available
  • Vehicle seizure/forfeiture
  • Participation in an alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle at your expense

Drivers with four or more DUI convictions are charged with felony DUI, and face the following penalties:

  • One year in jail with a minimum of 150 consecutive days served
  • A mandatory fine of $3,000 to $15,000
  • License revocation for eight years with no restricted license available
  • Vehicle seizure/forfeiture
  • Participation in an alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle at your expense

What penalties do I face if I injure or endanger another person while driving under the influence?

If you harm another person while driving under the influence, you may be charged with vehicular assault in addition to DUI. Vehicular assault is classified as a Class D felony and is punishable by one or more of the following:

  • License revocation from one to five years, depending on the number of prior offenses, with no restricted license available
  • Jail time of two to 12 years
  • Fines and court costs

When driving under the influence causes the death of another person, you may face an additional charge of vehicular homicide, a Class B felony with even more severe consequences.

Law enforcement takes a tough approach with DUI drivers who transport children. Driving under the influence with a minor passenger in the car is treated as a Class D felony if the child is injured and as a Class B felony if the child is killed. Drivers convicted of child endangerment in the context of a DUI face eight to 30 years of jail time, depending on the factors of each case.

Our criminal defense lawyers are prepared to defend you in your felony DUI case. We will evaluate the facts of your case, determine the best course of action, and work to help you avoid the most severe penalties.

Contact our felony DUI attorneys in Murfreesboro today to understand your rights during a free, no-obligation consultation

Contact Mitchell & Mitchell today at 615-896-4211 or online for a free consultation. Our office is conveniently located one block from the Rutherford County courthouse off Town Square. Evening, weekend, and home or hospital appointments are available. We are fluent in English and Spanish.